Citizen Project Proposal

After reading Claudia Rankine’s Citizen, I have been left with a lasting and better understanding of the impact and harm of white media and society on black people in the United States. Something I’ve been left thinking about is my own personal impact on this problem.

What I would like to do is write about the problem of being a white person who is a silent supporter of the black lives matter movement. One of the many things I’ve learned through Citizen is that being a silent supporter is more harmful than being a loud opposer. I would also like to write about another book I’m reading at the moment, Known and Strange Things by Teju Cole, as it has had many great excerpts on the injustices in society towards black people.

My message will hopefully be one that is helpful and, while not necessarily instructional, persuasive to many to speak out about things that matter to them. My intended audience is other people my age who aren’t letting their voices be heard.

Leave a Reply

